21 Question Tag – The Japanese Learner Version

Tags are fun! Here’s a tag created by HangukDrama, originally titled “21 Question Tag – The Korean Learner Version”. I enjoyed reading her answers and have adapted it for Japanese learners! If you choose to do the tag, please credit and link to her page! I’d also love it if you linked your post in a comment, because I’d be very interested to read it. Here we go!

1. Why Japanese?

I’ve answered this question at length in this blog before, but the short answer: completely different from the 2 languages I grew up speaking, easy pronunciation, great entertainment and fascinating culture.

2 . Favorite Japanese dictionary?

Jisho.org

3. First website that you visit everyday?

I’m assuming this question was referring to a site related to the language you’re learning? If so, that would be r/LearnJapanese.

4. Best thing that happened to you? (related to learning Japanese)

My latest tutor telling me how impressed she was at all that I’ve learned through self-study.

5. Ever regretted learning Japanese?

I will be honest. After getting really into K-Pop, I questioned whether I had chosen the wrong language since I was spending more time consuming Korean content.

6. Most common feedback/question you get when you say you are learning Japanese?

“OH MY GOD YOU MUST BE A GENIUS.”

“Why Japanese?”

7. First Japanese food that comes to your mind?

Tonkatsu. It was the first Japanese food I tried after Sushi.

8. Most overrated Japanese drama and anime?

Drama – Hana Kimi, Anime – Clannad

9. Most underrated Japanese drama and anime?

Drama – Love Shuffle, Anime – Michiko to Hatchin

10.Latest milestone in learning Japanese?

Receiving tutoring lessons almost entirely in Japanese.

11. Favorite Japanese word / phrase?

もう一度言うってください (“Can you say it once more, please?” I have to use this a lot lol)

12. Name 3 people (fictional / real) who motivate / influence your Japanese learning journey

Sensei – My current Japanese tutor has been the kick in the ass I’ve needed. I’ll elaborate on this in a future post.

Korean Vloggers – This may sound strange but vloggers like ChoNunMigookSaram and Dave blow me away with how incredibly fluent they sound in Korean. They seem to have the inflection and slang down even. I’m still on the hunt for their Japanese equivalents, but in the meantime just listening to them is motivation to throw myself into uncomfortable situations and learn!

Roommate – The roomie has been ruthless and calls me out on my shhh when I tell her I’ll study “later”.

13. Secret ambition / goal (relating to Japanese)

To translate 少女時代 interviews and future Japanese show appearances ><

14. I want to sound like _____ when I speak Japanese

I’ve never thought of this. I will say that Ueno Juri sounds adorable when she speaks, but I don’t know that I’d want to speak like her lol

15. Best compliment received (for Japanese)

So far, same as the “best thing that happened to you”. I think the only thing that can be better is to have Japanese people either be genuinely shocked when I speak, or at least have them respond back! (They’re known for replying in English.) Anything else could be *gasp* tatemae.

16. When is the last time you sat down and studied Japanese?

Yesterday (win!)

17. Favorite textbook?

Genki I is the only textbook I’ve ever used, aside from a few Minna no Nihongo lessons that were printed out for me by a previous tutor. Although not textbooks, I also really liked the Japanese Graded Readers at one point.

18. Special people you met (online or otherwise) through Japanese?

Special shout-out to Char who let me interview him.

Aside from that, I’ve been struggling to connect! Hoping to change that soon as my search for meet-up groups begins 🙂

19. How has learning Japanese changed you / your life? 

I’ve learned so much about East Asia, a region I knew absolutely nothing about while growing up.

20. Ever dreamt in Japanese?

I can’t remember anything specific, but I do remember speaking Japanese in my dreams after long study sessions lol

21. Single best thing about learning Japanese?

The amazing feeling you get when you’re able to understand something without a translation.

__________________________

Eep! I feel like this would have been more interesting if I had been a little farther in my studies. It was still fun!

L

About L

Interested in Japanese language and culture, J-Pop, K-Pop and Asian Dramas.
This entry was posted in Japanese Study and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

