Japanese Vocabulary on the Go (The Old Fashioned Way)

I wanted to share one of my favorite ways to learn Japanese (or any) Vocab on the go. Sure I love all the iPhone apps and games, but whatever happened to good old fashioned flash cards? Regular index cards are a bit bulky to carry around and are easily lost. Pre-made cards are not only expensive but may not fit your exact needs. The solution for Japanese learners on a budget? STAD Word’s World blank vocabulary cards!

These handy little books of cards on a ring are about the length of my index finger. There really are no excuses. It fits in your purse, schoolbag, pocket, sock… wherever you usually keep your most treasured belongings. Just whip out your cards whenever you have nothing better to do and do a quick run through. I also love that the ring easily comes apart for shuffling purposes. And the price? A little over a buck for one of these. Not bad.

According to my sources, these cards (単語カード) are very popular in Japan for English language study. If there’s anything I’ve learned about the Japanese, it’s that they know how to study… and they’re damn good at it.

I purchased a set of 6, which was the minimum quantity, over at White Rabbit Press. I made sure to order them with other books I was purchasing. The shipping is a bit steep, but if you’re already planning on ordering other items, it really isn’t all that bad for what you’re getting. Although I don’t have the link to the exact page, I know J-Box sells them as well. I’ve also seen variations of these cards at my local Japanese market.

This is just a quick tip for those of you who prefer some of the simpler things in life. I do like to use apps as an easy and painless way to study vocab on the go, but in my opinion they can never fully replace flash cards. Especially those you make yourself.

Good luck!

L

Update – 2/3/16 – I’ve noticed many had been clicking on the link I left for White Rabbit Press, which is now a dead link. I tried finding a new one, but only found this link for a bundle they offer: http://shop.whiterabbitjapan.com/collections/white-rabbit-press/products/kana-flashcards-stationery-set-1

But as long as you know what they’re called, you can search elsewhere. Good luck 🙂

About L

Interested in Japanese language and culture, J-Pop, K-Pop and Asian Dramas.
This entry was posted in Japanese Study and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Japanese Vocabulary on the Go (The Old Fashioned Way)

  1. Pingback: Spaced Repitition – DMLL

  2. shewrite63 says:

    Hey. I found this page after a web search for the Stad Word’s World cards. I received a bunch from a friend who taught English in Japan years ago and recently went through a 30 days of minimalism exercise. I now carry one in my purse to record short notes, observations while commuting or surviving daily life in Canada.

    Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Little jot cards get around | Shewrite63

Leave a Reply

