Hisashiburi Desu!! Long time no See!

どうも! しばらくですね! It’s been quite a while since my last post. And believe it or not… it’s been about that long since I last looked at any Japanese. Ok, not entirely true. I have watched a few drama episodes here and there and played some of my iPod apps… but I haven’t really studied. I happen to be taking a condensed summer course (non-Japanese that is), but I have no real excuses. While my class has been taking a few of my free time hours, it is a fascinating topic, so in this case it doesn’t require much studying. Japanese, however, requires more dedication. No excuses. I’ve just been lazy! I think we’ve all been there, haven’t we? We’ve been through a time where we seem to lose interest in the language for awhile. Lucky for me, this has only been temporary. However, there is a huge downside to taking time off from learning a language.

No, I haven’t forgotten everything. But it seems as if I’ve forgotten quite a bit! Vocabulary has mostly stuck through watching dramas and listening to music, but I am at a loss when it comes to grammar! I don’t know if I still remember how to write my kana characters and there are many kanji I’ve forgotten. My poor Japanese tutor has been neglected this past month and boy will next week’s session surely be an embarrassing one for me! Review, review, review. It’s also difficult to figure out where to pick up from. Some difficult grammar points I get and other simpler ones not so much. Do I have to go back to the beginning? It really doesn’t matter to me what kind of work I have to put in to get back where I was. Nothing can compare to the work I put in just to reach that point, and that is something I can’t forget.

Some methods I plan to try to get myself reacquainted:

– Reading my Lang8 Journal entries out loud

– Relistening to older Jpod 101 podcasts

– Practicing by tweeting, writing journals and making Facebook statuses in Japanese (whether I’m understood by others or not!)

Another thing to think about… as we lose interest in our language, what exactly is it that brings us back around? You know, those random details that remind you why you wanted to learn so badly in the first place. For example, I’ve had friends and family ask me about Japanese and it just makes me feel responsible for learning it. Watching others I know learning languages also gives me motivation to go back. And who can forget… just listening to this beautiful language being spoken is a good enough motivation for anyone. I’ve been watching Korean variety shows and dramas where Japanese characters are featured. I’m currently watching “Scent of a Woman” and the female lead took a trip to Okinawa. It was not only a feast for the eyes but the ears as well; I felt at home listening to the familiar sounds of Japanese while watching a Korean show. I am actually a big fan of the 9 member Korean Girl Group SNSD, or Shoujo Jidai as they’re known in Japan. One of their members imitated Japanese kawaii voices for a variety show and it was so adorable! I had to come back to this language. Random, I know. I’ll share the clip after the post for those interested. (For any Shoujo Jidai fans, this is a must see clip of Sunny hehe)

Well ladies and gentleman, I am officially back. Let’s hope I stay on track!

がんばります!

L

 

About L

Interested in Japanese language and culture, J-Pop, K-Pop and Asian Dramas.
This entry was posted in Japanese Study. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hisashiburi Desu!! Long time no See!

  1. Char says:

    Yup, going through the same thing. Want to, but life and stresses of various kinds can take the wind out of your sails. I think a less is more approach may be in order. Like studying in small bits to get through the down times. Very good points and I really like your honesty, don’t find that much on the net these days.

    • lvsanchez115 says:

      Hello, Char! Yes, one of my favorite J-bloggers always advises to practice at least 5 minutes a day. If you’re sick of it after 5 then you’re done for the day, but usually you’ll want to study longer. I think I’ll stick to that for now. Looking forward to more blog posts from you!

Leave a Reply

