My first Tutoring Session + Farewell to Smart.fm

I made it out alive!! Last Saturday was my first session with my Japanese tutor after about 5 months of  self-study. Heres what I found out:

1. My pronunciation is not too shabby (unless she was just being polite).

2. My teacher was more concerned in my kana reading than writing.

3. I am advanced compared to students that have studied longer.

I was so happy and relieved! I was SOOOO nervous about my writing and turns out I didn’t have to write at all. But, that doesn’t mean I won’t have to perfect it in the future. Also, I don’t mean to sound cocky when I mention how she told me how much of a genius I was (heehee). I threw that in there precisely because I am NOT. My tutor was going on and on about how smart I was to have picked up all of this in such short time and on my own. It took time, people! And dedication! And it’s so cliche… but come on… If I can do it, so can you!! Now that I know all of my tools were effective, I plan to start reviewing them. That being said….

SMART.FM IS SHUTTING DOWN!!! One of the tools that I felt was EXTREMELY helpful during my kana learning process is closing its doors and converting into a paid service called “iKnow”. For those of you learning Japanese and NOT familiar with Smart.fm… consider yourselves lucky because the rest of us have been in a deep depression as soon as this was announced. I wouldn’t mind paying a few bucks a month… but $12?? Lately I haven’t had time to go on the site as much as I used to, so it really wouldn’t be worth it. Smart.fm WAS the site to go to if you wanted to drill yourself on vocabulary, kana, kanji and more. It was an amazing site and I’m thankful for the time I had with it, but if you’re going to pay 12 bucks a month, it’s not worth the money. This is true especially for the broke college kids out there like me. SO… I will have to move on to other things…

My next tutoring session is tomorrow afternoon… will have to be able to tell time in Japanese without even thinking about it. HA. Wish me luck on that!

L

About L

Interested in Japanese language and culture, J-Pop, K-Pop and Asian Dramas.
This entry was posted in Japanese Study and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My first Tutoring Session + Farewell to Smart.fm

  1. David says:

    Hey, I am a developer for WordStash.com (http://wordstash.com) which is a similar flashcard based learning tool but with better games imo. Check it out, let me know what you think.

  2. Pingback: Searching for the Perfect Japanese Tutor! | nihonamor

Leave a Reply

